We Are Improving!

We hope that you'll find our new look appealing and the site easier to navigate than before. Please pardon any 404's that you may see, we're trying to tidy those up!  Should you find yourself on a 404 page please use the search feature in the navigation bar.  

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Despite a request for a recount in the Halifax County Schools Board of Education race the county’s board of elections today unanimously certified the results of the May 17 primary.

The board set the recount for June 2 at 11 a.m. in the board of commissioners room in the Historic Courthouse located on King Street in Halifax.

Board of elections Director Kristin Scott said if the recount shows a change in the numbers for the board of education race the elections board can rescind the certification done today and adjust to the correct numbers.

Rodney D. Pierce, a challenger in the board of education race, requested the recount. Scott said after provisional and absentee ballots were approved Wednesday, Pierce found himself trailing incumbent Joyce Lashley by 35 votes when after all precincts were reported last week he was trailing her by 33 votes. 

Pierce finished fourth in the race, falling short of gaining one of the three open seats which have been claimed by Lashley, incumbent Claude Cooper — the top vote-getter in the race — and challenger Michael Hawkins Sr. who finished second behind Cooper.

All other races remained unchanged since Wednesday’s board meeting.

In the Halifax County Board of Commissioners race incumbent Rives Manning ended up claiming victory over challenger Chuck Hasty by 26 votes. Hasty finished fourth in the race where voters could pick three commissioners. 

Current board Chair Vernon Bryant was the top vote-getter followed by challenger Chenoa Richardson Davis while Manning claimed the third-place position.

The three winners will face Republican Sammy Webb in November.

Other winners:

Tyree Davis won the sheriff’s race

Incumbent Becky Spragins won the clerk of superior court race

Kim Gourier Scott won the District 7 district attorney’s race

Michael Wray won the state House of Representatives District 27 race. He will face Republican Wes Tripp in November.

Chief District Court Judge Brenda Green Branch won the superior court judge’s seat