Opinion

Opinion (421)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Thursday, 14 June 2018 13:18

Local elections and fairness principles

Written by

The questions we planned to ask were to be earnest.

Friday, 11 May 2018 14:22

HCPHS offers water safety tips

Written by

Summer is just around the corner!

Friday, 11 May 2018 14:15

Sykes addresses Manning comments

Written by

Let me begin by thanking all of the individuals that supported me for this public office of County Commissioner.

Friday, 11 May 2018 06:13

McCollum responds to Manning comments

Written by

I’m going to get straight to the point and not beat around the bush.

Thursday, 10 May 2018 12:03

Black caucus not going away

Written by

On behalf of the Halifax County Black Caucus (HCBC) executive board and membership, I want to express our appreciation for the support and participation in the local 2018 Primary Election by voters.

Friday, 04 May 2018 14:57

Eloquence in their bloodstream

Written by

In the aftermath of the Parkland school shooting we have seen the most vicious, venomous and acidic attacks on, of all people, our students and future leaders.

Wednesday, 04 April 2018 12:28

Just vote

Written by

There is one course of action in the wake of the one-stop voting debacle in Roanoke Rapids and it’s a simple solution: Just vote.

Wednesday, 25 October 2017 14:17

Avoiding sticky Halloween treat situations

Written by

October is National Orthodontic Health Month, and each October, thousands of kids have one thing on their mind: Halloween candy.

Friday, 29 September 2017 07:34

A veteran's view: The flag, free speech and respect

Written by

I was recently asked my opinion about individuals “taking a knee” during the National Anthem.  

Friday, 22 September 2017 10:31

Remember our Gold Star mothers

Written by

National Gold Star Mother’s Day, also known as National Gold Star Mother’s and Family’s Day, is observed annually on the last Sunday in September.

Saturday, 09 September 2017 16:18

Photos from 17 years of life

Written by

Seventeen years of life flashed through the slideshow before her funeral.

Thursday, 17 August 2017 12:12

Letter from RRGSD Superintendent Dain Butler

Written by

The following letter from Roanoke Rapids Graded School District Superintendent Dain Butler is going out to parents:

Page 1 of 27

Latest Comments

Search

Login Form