Print this page
Tuesday, 22 May 2018 20:11

2018 Team Mike scholarship winners

Written by  RRspin Sports
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Randy Wrenn presented the 3rd Annual "Team Mike" Coach Mike Newsome scholarships to three area high school seniors Tuesday afternoon.

The late coach Mike Newsome, who devoted so much of himself to the youth of the Roanoke Valley for nearly 50 years as a coach passed away January 16th 2015 at the age of 67. Friends came together to form "Team Mike" and find ways to honor the late coach Newsome and keep his memories alive.

So in 2016 it was decided to award a scholarship in his name to three area senior athlete students from high schools where coach Newsome coached.


Newsome coached the Varsity softball team at Halifax Academy for five seasons (99 - 03) with a NCISSA 1A State Championship.  Newsome started and coached the Varsity softball team at KIPP High for four season (11-14) with a 1A Tar Roanoke Conference championship and conference coach of the year in 2013. Newsome coached the Varsity Roanoke Rapids Women's basketball team for one season (04 - 05) before a Heart attack sidelined him.



2018 Halifax Academy Lady Vikings softball senior Candice Smith has been named as the 3rd Annual Halifax Academy "Team Mike" Coach Mike Newsome scholarship award winner. Smith played recreation softball under the Late Coach Newsome. Miss Smith will be attending William Peace University in Raleigh.



2018 KIPP Pride High Softball senior Harleigh Clay has been named as the 3rd Annual KIPP High "Team Mike" Coach Mike Newsome scholarship award winner. Harleigh was playing softball on KIPP softball team under coach Newsome at the time of his passing. Miss Clay will be attending the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill.



2018 Roanoke Rapids High Yellow Jacket Basketball senior Camden Beirbauer has been named as the 3rd Annual Roanoke Rapids High "Team Mike" Coach Mike Newsome scholarship award winner. Camden played softball at Chaloner Middle when the Late coach Newsome assisted coach Jack Goldberg. Miss Beirbauer will be attending University of North Carolina Wilmington.


"Team Mike" organizer Randy Wrenn stated, "This scholarship award is just another way to honor the Late coach and also honor several senior athletes and schools Mike was part of for years. Coach was always willing to give his time to the kids in the Roanoke Valley. I guess that is part of where I get my drive, because all of the Roanoke Valley kids need to have fun and smile. Thanks to all that helped this year in the fundraisers for "Team Mike", with a special thanks to supporters in every event (Davis Body Shop, Discount Tire of Roanoke Rapids, Lynch's Signs and Graphics, Roanoke Cinemas, RRspin .com Sports, Today's Electronics, Weldon Middle School, Halifax County Sheriff Wes Tripp, Roanoke Rapids Parks and Recreation and the Northampton County Wellness Complex).

Coach Newsome's widow Jeane sent her congratulations to all three girls and stated "Mike would be so happy to see this. He loved all of "his girls". 


Past winners


Halifax Academy Softball - Drew Rose

KIPP Pride High softball - Ke'shonna Gay

Roanoke Rapids Basketball - Lauren Oliver



Halifax Academy - Brooke Robertson

KIPP Pride  High - Latajah (Tay) Jones

Roanoke Rapids Basketball - Jordan Carpenter


Read 1805 times Last modified on Wednesday, 23 May 2018 00:13

Comments on 2018 Team Mike scholarship winners