PETA hosted Thursday’s Business after Hours at the Roanoke Valley Chamber of Commerce, giving an overview of the work it has done in Halifax County and seeking support for a countywide tethering ban.

A Hollister man charged with six counts of cruelty to animals pled to three counts filed against him, the Halifax County Clerk of Court Office confirmed today.

The Roanoke Rapids Public Works Department has treated roads with some 18,000 gallons of brine as it awaits a winter storm which could bring as much as a foot of snow to the area this evening.

Friday, 09 December 2016 14:40

PETA offers cold weather tips for pets

Every year, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals receives thousands of complaints about people who leave animals outside in the cold.

Wednesday, 16 November 2016 13:54

Hollister man faces six animal cruelty counts

State court records confirm a Hollister man has a November 29 court date in which he will answer to charges of six misdemeanor counts of cruelty to animals.

As reported cases of dogs collapsing from heat exhaustion soar, five new PETA billboards are alerting Halifax County residents to the dangers of leaving chained dogs outside in the summer heat, including deadly heat stroke and flystrike.

An investigation by the Halifax County Sheriff's Office last month confirms findings by the animal rights group People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals a dog died from starvation.

Thursday, 11 February 2016 14:13

Photo gallery: Giving hay as the sun shines

PETA ran out of its initial supply of bedding straw in about 20-30 minutes of arriving at Tractor Supply today, went to a local nursery and bought more.

Wednesday, 10 February 2016 13:09

PETA offering straw bedding Thursday

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals will provide straw bedding for dogs which have inadequate protection from an impending cold front expected to grip the area over the weekend.

One dog named Chase had become so weak from starvation it couldn't stand and had to be put down.

Page 1 of 2

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Fri Nov 17 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Nov 18 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Nov 19 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Nov 20 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Nov 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Nov 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Nov 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Nov 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Nov 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Nov 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 1241 guests and no members online

Login Form