The Halifax County Agriculture Auditorium will serve as the sole one-stop early voting location in the days leading to the November 6 election.

Jimmie Silver, who plans to run against incumbent Wes Tripp for Halifax County sheriff as an unaffiliated candidate in November, has received enough signatures his petition can be certified.

With the results of the May 8 primary certified today, the Halifax County Board of Elections will begin Monday researching signatures on a petition submitted by Jimmie Silver to run for sheriff as an independent in the November 6 general election.

Incumbents candidates in Halifax County won in Tuesday’s primary election.

Wednesday, 04 April 2018 12:28

Just vote

There is one course of action in the wake of the one-stop voting debacle in Roanoke Rapids and it’s a simple solution: Just vote.

Published in Opinion

Roanoke Rapids Mayor Emory Doughtie said he will continue a push for a one-stop voting site in the city ahead of the May 8 primary.

Thursday, 29 March 2018 16:56

County elections board sets Monday meeting

The Halifax County Board of Elections will hold a meeting Monday at noon in Halifax.

Wednesday, 28 March 2018 10:45

State approves county elections board

The North Carolina State Board of Elections approved the appointments of two Democrats and two Republicans to make up the Halifax County Board of Elections.

Despite efforts to find an alternate location to have an early voting site in the city, there will be no one-stop precinct in Roanoke Rapids this year.

Four challengers will square off against three incumbent Halifax County commissioners in the May 8 Democratic Primary.

Page 1 of 6

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form