Thursday, 02 August 2018 14:02

Sanitary district reports wastewater spill

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District had a wastewater spill Wednesday of an estimated 1,200 gallons from the wastewater collection system located at the intersection of Laurel Avenue and West Fourth Street.  

Untreated wastewater diluted by heavy rains spilled into the waters of the state tributary to the Roanoke River in the Roanoke River Basin when inflow into the sewer system from rainwater runoff exceeded the system capacity.

The spill began at 1:30 a.m. and ended at 3:30 a.m.  

Preparation is being made for all known repairs necessary to reduce the source of inflow to return the pipe system to service and minimize further discharge.

Read 2051 times

Comments on Sanitary district reports wastewater spill

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form