Tuesday, 26 June 2018 16:07

Van driver in Monday crash succumbs

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The driver of a van, the first vehicle struck by a tractor-trailer in a crash on Interstate 95 Monday, died from the injuries he sustained.

Sergeant M.P. Cape of the state Highway Patrol, said William Patrick Myles, 62, of Melbourne, Florida, died around 9:30 p.m. Monday at Vidant in Greenville. The highway patrol confirmed the death this afternoon.

Cape said Myles was able to get out of the vehicle and help his 22-year-old daughter out before he collapsed following the crash which occurred near the 180 exit in Northampton County.

The van ended up burning following the crash.

Cape said Trooper Scott Richardson is still investigating the crash.

The crash occurred Monday afternoon when southbound traffic began slowing down for the installation of a message board around the 176 mile marker, Cape said.

The tractor-trailer rammed into the back of the van and knocked it into the side of another tractor-trailer, the sergeant said.

Most of the others injured have been released from the hospital, he said.

 

Read 7805 times

Comments on Van driver in Monday crash succumbs

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sun Jul 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form