Tuesday, 19 June 2018 10:06

Man dies in Sam Powell Dairy Rd. crash

Written by 
Rate this item
(6 votes)

A Roanoke Rapids man died Monday night after the lawn mower he was driving was struck by an SUV on Sam Powell Dairy Road.

According to a preliminary report by Trooper J.T. Keeter of the state Highway Patrol, Timothy Simmons, 56, was driving a riding lawn mower north on Sam Powell Dairy Road when the driver of the Chevrolet SUV struck him from behind around 9:15 p.m. Simmons was ejected from the lawn mower.

The report indicates the lawn mower had no lights or reflectors and the driver of the SUV was unable to see the lawn mower, which was in the travel lane, due to the darkness.

The crash occurred about 5.5 miles south of Roanoke Rapids.

Read 11583 times

Comments on Man dies in Sam Powell Dairy Rd. crash

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sun Jul 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form