Tuesday, 15 May 2018 21:11

Story center gets name makeover

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Jo Story Senior Center will now be known as Jo Story Senior Center for Active Adults.

It is a name change which was not only backed by city council this evening but prior to it going to council by the senior citizens advisory board, Parks and Recreation Director John Simeon said.

The addition to the longstanding name of the facility on Jackson Street, located across from Lloyd Andrews City Meeting Hall, follows current trends across the state to appeal to people 55 to 65, who are the largest growing segment of society. They are commonly referred to as Baby Boomers, the parks and rec department said in information contained in this evening’s agenda packet. “It is hopeful this name change will reflect and market to this age group so they can take advantage of the services being offered at our facility.”

Councilwoman Suetta Scarbrough, who was in on the initial discussions about the name alteration said, “People think it sounds like an old folks home.”

Simeon told council, “Some people feel like it’s an assisted living facility.”

Scarbrough said members of the Story family were OK with the addition.

Read 1108 times

Comments on Story center gets name makeover

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form