Sunday, 06 May 2018 16:32

Three charged in sweepstakes robbery

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)

Three Roanoke Rapids men were charged in the Saturday morning armed robbery of a Halifax area sweepstakes business.

The arrests of Navon Harris, Devin Johnston and Antonio Simmons came after a state Highway Patrol traffic stop of a vehicle matching the description of one used in the Lucky Dollar robbery, which occurred shortly after 8 a.m. Saturday.

The stop in the area of Highway 48 and Hyacinth Lane in the Roanoke Rapids area occurred a few hours after the robbery.

Chief Deputy Scott Hall of the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office said in a statement today several items used in the robbery were found, including a .380 handgun discovered by sheriff’s office Lieutenant S. Casey.

Sheriff’s office Detective Travis Clark lodged the following charges:

Harris — aid and abet armed armed robbery; conspiracy to commit robbery with a dangerous weapon and carrying a concealed weapon. He received a $20,000 secured bond.

Johnston — robbery with a dangerous weapon; assault by pointing a gun; conspiracy to commit robbery with a dangerous weapon. He received a $35,000 secured bond.

Simmons — aid and abet armed robbery; conspiracy to commit robbery with a dangerous weapon; carrying a concealed weapon and possession of a firearm by felon.

Simmons was also served orders for arrest which include an unrelated misdemeanor larceny count. The total of the bonds for the orders were $1,400 secured and the bond for the Saturday armed robbery was $25,000 secured.

The men have June 6 court dates.

 

Read 13531 times

Comments on Three charged in sweepstakes robbery

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form