Thursday, 29 March 2018 11:23

Crack rocks, heroin seized in morning checking station

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)
The evidence collected. The evidence collected. Halifax County Sheriff's Office

A Garysburg man was reportedly found in possession of 62 crack rocks and three bindles of heroin after he attempted to flee a checking station this morning.

younger

Halifax County Sheriff’s Office Deputy J. Comeaux charged Derrick Anthony Younger, 35,  with possession with intent to manufacture, sell and deliver schedule II; possession with intent to manufacture, sell or deliver heroin; maintaining a vehicle, place or dwelling for a controlled substance; possession of drug paraphernalia and resisting a public officer.

He was also served with an outstanding warrant for unauthorized use of a motor vehicle.

The events which led to his arrest began around 2 a.m. today when the sheriff’s office and Weldon Police Department were conducting a checking station at Second and Sycamore streets in Weldon, Captain A.M. Harris of the City County Drug Task Force said in a statement.

Comeaux encountered Younger and central communications advised he had the outstanding warrant.

As Comeaux attempted to arrest Younger, the man fled from the checking station but was caught after a brief foot chase.

Younger was found in possession of 10 vials of crack and three bindles of heroin.

He received a $10,000 bond and May 2 court date.

Sergeant T. L. Mason and Officer T. Revis of the Weldon Police Department and Corporal M. Zughbi and Deputy G. Keel of the sheriff's office assisted.

Read 7295 times

Comments on Crack rocks, heroin seized in morning checking station

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Jul 21 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form