Tuesday, 27 March 2018 16:10

Police working leads in latest HCC bomb scare

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Weldon police Chief James Avens said investigators have leads they are pursuing following a bomb threat made to Halifax Community College today.

Avens said he couldn’t say with certainty if the one received today was related to one received last Tuesday.

Today’s bomb threat was called in to the Halifax County 911 Center, the college said in a statement, and the school was alerted to a possible explosive device on campus.

The call last week was made directly to the school.

In the statement, HCC said today’s threat was deemed low-level by college administration, but proper protocol was followed.  

“Despite the fact that the threat was considered low-level, our procedure dictated that we do a complete sweep of campus,” said HCC President Michael Elam said in the statement. “Upon investigation, both by law enforcement and campus personnel, no threat was found.”

HCC remains on its normal operating schedule. No evacuations or lock downs were initiated or necessary.

Avens said officers did an assessment of the entire college. “I just hope whoever’s doing it realizes the seriousness and consequences.”

The one last week remains under investigation as well as the one today, Avens said.

Anyone with information is encouraged to call the police department at 252-536-3136 or Crimestoppers at 252-583-4444.

 

 

Read 2674 times

Comments on Police working leads in latest HCC bomb scare

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Jul 21 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form