Thursday, 08 February 2018 21:17

Fire destroys kitchen at Park Ave. residence

Written by 
Rate this item
(2 votes)

Fire caused significant damage to a kitchen at a residence in the 1100 block of Park Avenue this afternoon.

Battalion Chief Richard Cook of the Roanoke Rapids Fire Department said the kitchen was “pretty much destroyed” but the fire was contained quickly. The rest of the house was spared, he said.

Firefighters received the call shortly before 3 p.m. Cook said they witnessed smoke showing through the outside of the house from the ridge vents and overhang.

Firefighters entered through the front door and found fire in the kitchen, which was extinguished within about 10 minutes.

The stove was on when the fire occurred, Cook said. Firefighters are ruling it accidental, he said.

Ten firefighters comprised of stations 1 and 2, as well as off-duty personnel, responded. No one was injured.

Read 3970 times

Comments on Fire destroys kitchen at Park Ave. residence

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form