Wednesday, 07 February 2018 18:44

Hertford Co. man dies in crash outside Enfield

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

A Harrellsville man died in a single-vehicle crash outside Enfield this afternoon.

Trooper T.D. “Bo” Forsht of the state Highway Patrol said Larry Mitchell, 66, was traveling north on Highway 301 shortly after 1 p.m.

Forsht said the man was a approximately a half-mile north of Enfield when he partially traveled off the right side of the roadway in his vehicle. He overcorrected the vehicle, came back on the roadway and his vehicle overturned, colliding with a bridge on the west side of Highway 301. The vehicle struck the concrete bridge rails.

The trooper said there was no evidence of excessive speed or driver inattention. The preliminary investigation does show Mitchell was not wearing a seatbelt.

Forsht said the main contributing factor was running off the road, overcorrecting and the vehicle overturning.

He said he is still investigating to determine whether the man had a preexisting medical condition.

Read 3748 times Last modified on Wednesday, 07 February 2018 19:24

Comments on Hertford Co. man dies in crash outside Enfield

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Tue Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Community Conversations
Fri Jan 26 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
4-H Movie Night
Sat Feb 10 @10:00AM -
Halifax County Genealogical Society
Wed Feb 14 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive

Login Form