Saturday, 03 February 2018 05:24

Catalytic converter failure causes brush fires

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

A failed catalytic converter on a vehicle Friday sparked a series of grass and brush fires in the Wright Road and Five Points areas.

Halifax County Forest Service Ranger Adam Greene said the fires could have been worse had it not been for the quick response of Littleton and Rheasville fire departments.

The fires consumed about 3 acres of grass, brush and woodlands, Greene said.

A similar situation last February created about the same amount of damage in the Highway 158 area of Littleton.

February is the start of the spring fire season, which runs through April, Greene said.

The failed converter caused three fires in the Wright Road area; one at Five Points and one near the Green Store on Highway 48.

Two rangers and the volunteer fire departments fought the fires between 6 p.m. and 7 p.m.

There was no property damage. Greene said one house was threatened. “The fire departments did a good job of knocking them down.”

 

Read 2249 times

Comments on Catalytic converter failure causes brush fires

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Tue Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Community Conversations
Fri Jan 26 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
4-H Movie Night
Sat Feb 10 @10:00AM -
Halifax County Genealogical Society
Wed Feb 14 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive

Login Form