Friday, 19 January 2018 11:09

RRPD roundup: Stolen weapon count; DWLR charge

Written by 
Rate this item
(3 votes)

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department reported the following, according to Chief Chuck Hasty:

On Thursday at approximately 10 a.m., the police department received a call about a person trying to sell a stolen firearm at a local business.

The person left before officers arrived.

Officers gave a description and direction of travel.

Officer A. Green conducted a traffic stop in the 800 block of Hamilton Street.  

Dwayne Leon Cameron, 57, of Chocowinity, was arrested and charged with possession of a stolen firearm and possession of a firearm by felon.

He received a $4,000 bond and February 7 court date.

The charges stem from an investigation by Investigator O.L. Wiltsie into a matter reported Tuesday where the firearm was taken during a robbery of a person.

Wiltsie said the robbery occurred on East Chaloner Drive. He declined to discuss specifics as the case remains under investigation.

Master Officer J. Hardy, officers S. Blythe and C. Hagbourne assisted.

 

On Thursday at approximately 1:30 p.m., Hardy and Hagbourne conducted a traffic stop for a violation on Vine Street near Smith Church Road.  

During the stop the driver, Desmond Nygun King, 23, of Halifax, was found driving on a revoked license and the passenger, Saquoyah Dominique Jones, 23, of Weldon, was found in possession of narcotics.

King was arrested and charged with driving while license revoked. He received a $2,000 bond and February 16 court date.

Jones was cited for possession of marijuana and released until her February 16 court date.

Green assisted.

Read 6089 times

Comments on RRPD roundup: Stolen weapon count; DWLR charge

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form