Thursday, 28 December 2017 11:00

Morning bank robbery suspect in custody

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)
Peck leads the alleged suspect into custody. Peck leads the alleged suspect into custody. rrspin.com

An alleged bank robbery suspect is in custody and Roanoke Rapids police investigators are still sorting out details of the case.

Chief Chuck Hasty said investigators are still trying to determine the man’s identity.

The robbery occurred around 9:15 this morning at PNC Bank in the Oakland Shopping Center, Hasty said in a statement.

Police responded to a panic alarm from the bank and officers learned the alarm was set in response to a robbery.

The man entered the bank, spoke with employees and then handed a note requesting money. The employees complied with the request and the man fled the area.

He was later apprehended by city police officers, Halifax County Sheriff’s Office deputies and City County Drug Task Force agents in the southbound lanes of Interstate 95 near the 163 mile marker.

Sergeant Mark Peck escorted the man to the police department for booking.

It was not immediately what charges would be filed and whether any of the money was recovered.

Read 9481 times

Comments on Morning bank robbery suspect in custody

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form