Friday, 22 December 2017 12:22

RRPD roundup: Stolen checks; chase ends in drug bust

Written by 
Rate this item
(5 votes)

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department is investigating a case where stolen checks were used at a local grocery store.

JamiLanden

Jami Landen is being sought for the use of the checks in October.

Investigator Obert Wiltsie said about four checks were passed and around $100 worth of goods were purchased. Landed also got cash back.

Wiltsie said Landen frequents the South Rosemary area.

Anyone with information is encouraged to contact the police department at 252-533-2810; Wiltsie at 252-533-2823 or Crimestoppers at 252-583-4444.

 

Deputy Chief Andy Jackson reported on Thursday shortly after 3 p.m., Officer A.J. Green attempted to conduct a traffic stop at West Eleventh Street for fictitious tags.

The driver did not stop and continued down Eleventh Street to the 1000 block of Cedar before stopping.

The front seat and rear seat passenger fled from the vehicle and ran toward Vance Street.

Green pursued the rear seat passenger and noticed an object fall. Green continued the chase and caught the person.

Green located a bag of marijuana and Master Officer Jamie Hardy and his dog, Storm, located a second bag.

One bag contained 2.6 grams of marijuana and a second bag, with two bags inside, contained 62.9 grams.

Jamazia Tillery, 18, of Roanoke Rapids, was charged with resist, obstruct and delay, possession of paraphernalia, felony possession of marijuana and  possession with intent to sell and deliver marijuana.

He was jailed on $6,000 bond and has a January 3 court date.

Read 10800 times

Comments on RRPD roundup: Stolen checks; chase ends in drug bust

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form