Wednesday, 20 December 2017 13:21

Chief's vehicle, car near officer's house broken into

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)

A Roanoke Rapids police vehicle was broken into and another vehicle in the vicinity of an officer’s house was broken into sometime this morning.

Sometime between midnight and 5:15 a.m. Chief Chuck Hasty found his locked vehicle was broken into and a rifle, bullet-proof vest and gun magazine were taken.

Captain Bobby Martin said a vehicle in the vicinity of another law enforcement officer’s house was also broken into but nothing was taken. That break-in occurred within an hour of the Hasty B&E.

Hasty declined comment on how entry was made into his vehicle and said the police department is trying to determine whether law enforcement is specifically being targeted.

The value of the items taken from Hasty’s vehicle is about $1,000, he said.

Martin said the department is looking to see whether law enforcement vehicles are being targeted.

Anyone with information is encouraged to call Martin at 252-533-2820 or Crimestoppers at 252-583-4444.

Read 7306 times

Comments on Chief's vehicle, car near officer's house broken into

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form