Tuesday, 12 December 2017 23:02

Ford welcomed to RR school board; Carlisle chosen as chair

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Stephenson administers the oath of office to Ford. Stephenson administers the oath of office to Ford.

The Roanoke Rapids Graded School District Board of Trustees welcomed one new member and two incumbents this evening.

Newcomer Henry Ford and returning members Mike Salanik and Valencia Davis were sworn into office for six-year terms.   

Halifax County Judge Turner Stephenson administered the oath of office.

Ford is replacing longtime trustee Jane Deese who retired last month after 28 years as trustee.

The board also elected Jay Carlisle to serve another term as chairman and Davis to serve as vice-chair.  

RRHS make-up day

As its first order of business, the board voted to allow Roanoke Rapids High School students to make up lost classroom instruction time next week before going home for the winter break.  

Students were forced to miss classes on Monday due to a failed heating exchange system at the school.  

Students will have to make up that time next Tuesday, December 19. by going a full day.  

Other district schools will continue to operate on an early release schedule on that day.  

 

RR Early College

The board was also informed its application to open Roanoke Rapids Early College next fall has been approved by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.  

Renovations are currently underway at the former Armory building where the early college will be located.  

 

2018-19 calendar

Trustees also approved the 2018-19 school calendar.  Students will begin classes August 27.  

Read 2570 times

Comments on Ford welcomed to RR school board; Carlisle chosen as chair

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sun Jan 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Jan 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Jan 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Jan 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Jan 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Jan 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Jan 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Jan 28 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Jan 29 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Jan 30 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 647 guests and no members online

Login Form