Thursday, 07 December 2017 22:14

2-year-old in critical condition after Weldon drive-by

Written by 
Rate this item
(7 votes)
Halifax County Sheriff's Office deputies comb the scene for clues this evening. Halifax County Sheriff's Office deputies comb the scene for clues this evening. rrspin.com

A 2-year-old child has been airlifted from Halifax Regional to an undisclosed medical facility in critical condition after sustaining a gunshot wound to the head in the wake of a drive-by shooting.

The shooting of the male child occurred in the 700 block of Elm Street shortly after 8:15 this evening, Weldon police Chief James Avens said.

The child was shot after he was transitioning from one room of the house to another.

It was not clear how many shots were fired. Avens was headed to the crime scene after departing Halifax Regional as of this report. He has called the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation to process the crime scene.

Avens said he doesn’t believe the shooting was random. Motive is unclear at this point.

The chief said the police department has several people of interest in the case.

Read 35648 times

Comments on 2-year-old in critical condition after Weldon drive-by

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Tue Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Community Conversations
Fri Jan 26 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
4-H Movie Night
Sat Feb 10 @10:00AM -
Halifax County Genealogical Society
Wed Feb 14 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive

Login Form