Thursday, 07 December 2017 22:14

2-year-old in critical condition after Weldon drive-by

Written by 
Rate this item
(7 votes)
Halifax County Sheriff's Office deputies comb the scene for clues this evening. Halifax County Sheriff's Office deputies comb the scene for clues this evening. rrspin.com

A 2-year-old child has been airlifted from Halifax Regional to an undisclosed medical facility in critical condition after sustaining a gunshot wound to the head in the wake of a drive-by shooting.

The shooting of the male child occurred in the 700 block of Elm Street shortly after 8:15 this evening, Weldon police Chief James Avens said.

The child was shot after he was transitioning from one room of the house to another.

It was not clear how many shots were fired. Avens was headed to the crime scene after departing Halifax Regional as of this report. He has called the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation to process the crime scene.

Avens said he doesn’t believe the shooting was random. Motive is unclear at this point.

The chief said the police department has several people of interest in the case.

Read 37807 times

Comments on 2-year-old in critical condition after Weldon drive-by

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form