Friday, 24 November 2017 11:40

Roanoke Rapids woman dies in Highway 125 crash

Written by 
Rate this item
(12 votes)

A 52-year-old Roanoke Rapids woman died in a head-on collision on Highway 125 this morning.

Trooper R.P. Dennis of the State Highway Patrol said Sandra Lee Britt of Straight Road was driving south on the highway when Sergio Torres Batres of Rockville, Maryland, crossed left of the centerline around 9 a.m.

Batres’ Dodge Challenger struck Britt’s 1996 Thunderbird. Britt died at the scene.

The crash occurred just past the Shell gas station and convenience store.

Batres, 20, was traveling an estimated 70 miles per hour when the vehicle crossed the centerline.

Dennis said distracted driving may be a factor in the crash because there was no evidence of braking. He could not say with certainty whether the distracted driving was because of a cell phone or something else in the vehicle.

Batres sustained serious injuries in the crash and was airlifted to Vidant in Greenville for treatment.

He faces pending charges of careless and reckless driving which reflects the speeding and driving left of center.

Dennis said he plans to consult with the district attorney’s office on whether to possibly charge him with felony death by motor vehicle.

Read 21071 times

Comments on Roanoke Rapids woman dies in Highway 125 crash

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Dec 16 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Dec 17 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Dec 18 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Dec 19 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Dec 20 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Dec 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Dec 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Dec 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Dec 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Dec 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 833 guests and no members online

Login Form