Wednesday, 22 November 2017 17:47

Photo gallery: Remembering Champ

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)
A photo of Champ placed at the memorial. A photo of Champ placed at the memorial. rrspin.com

Local law enforcement officers and those from across the region gathered at the law enforcement memorial in Centennial Park to remember Champ, who was partnered with Roanoke Rapids Master Officer Gerald Morris since October of last year.

Last Thursday Champ escaped from his kennel while Morris was away on training. A car struck the dog and the driver did not stop. Champ died shortly after Officer Scott Blythe found him.

The memorial service today included the Northampton County Sheriff’s Office Honor Guard, Taps and brief remarks from Chief Chuck Hasty and Morris.

Hasty said in the time Morris and Champ were partnered, they located $83,466 in cash; 7 grams of cocaine; 5.3 grams of crack; 14 grams of heroin; 61.4 grams of marijuana; various amounts of paraphernalia; two stolen stolen guns and located two people, one who was responsible for 90 B&Es in the city and 10 in the county.

Read 1719 times

Comments on Photo gallery: Remembering Champ

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Dec 16 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Dec 17 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Dec 18 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Dec 19 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Dec 20 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Dec 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Dec 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Dec 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Dec 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Dec 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 847 guests and no members online

Login Form