Monday, 20 November 2017 12:39

Clara Hearne welcomes hands-on learning center

Written by 
Rate this item
(2 votes)
Lindsey Goble helps a child with the aid of a tablet. Lindsey Goble helps a child with the aid of a tablet.

The Roanoke Rapids Graded School District has created a new space for hands-on learning at Clara Hearne Pre-K Center.

Makerspaces are extensions of the classroom and provide a creative place where students can gather to invent, explore and discover using various tools and materials.  

The room is equipped with several interactive electronic tablets and video boards for learning.

“These Makerspaces are popular in elementary schools,” school system spokesman Les Atkins said. “They allow students to learn words, colors and math skills which enhance critical thinking. It’s really an extension of the classroom.”

A student who struggles learning words might play an interactive digital game in the Makerspace targeting specific reading skills.

Larry Catalano, Claire Hearne director, said, “This technology-rich environment is all about fostering critical thinking, creativity, and student collaboration. The room was created through several combined efforts of the staff, including coming in over the summer, painting the room in inviting and exciting colors, and assembling the room so that we have an inviting environment.”

Belmont Elementary added a Makerspace a few years ago which includes a 3D printer and an introduction to computer coding and robotics.

“We’re already seeing results and that’s what’s important,” Catalano said.

Read 1268 times

Comments on Clara Hearne welcomes hands-on learning center

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form