Monday, 13 November 2017 13:38

SAR honors friends, officers, first responders

Written by 
Rate this item
(2 votes)
Strunk, left, honors Wilson for his service. Strunk, left, honors Wilson for his service.

The Halifax Resolves Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution honored friends, officers and first responders at a meeting in Halifax last week.

The meeting also marked the end of presidency for Ken Wilson who turned over the gavel to new President David B. Gammon.

“It has been an honor and a pleasure serving as your president for the past two years,” Wilson said. “ … This chapter, I believe, will continue to grow and participate in activities in our community and state. Through the efforts of our membership we were recognized as the small chapter with the best overall program in the SAR for 2016 as well as receiving several other awards.Earlier this year we received an astounding 62 brochure entries and 49 posters. Recently we also received a record 40 Knight Essay submissions from Roanoke Rapids High School and Nash Central. Our flag retirements with Roanoke Rapids High School are continuing on a one per semester occurrence. Classroom presentations have increased.  Plans have already been made for the poster and brochure contests.”

Said Wilson: “This chapter is one of, if not the most, active small chapter in North Carolina. I believe this will continue for the foreseeable future.  The community is now more aware of this chapter than in years past and I believe we will be called on in the future by other organizations to participate in events and ceremonies.  

“As I pass the reins to David, I will not be leaving him or the chapter without support and advice if called upon. There are several projects, in both the chapter and state, already in the works that I hope to be of assistance in seeing to fruition.”

North Carolina SAR President George Strunk, who is also president of the General George Washington chapter in Greenville, oversaw the oath of office for Gammond, Vice President Geoffrey Pittard and Chaplain Duncan Jones. Secretary-Treasurer Steven F. Avent was absent.




Ladies of the Halifax United Methodist Church were honored in recognition of the support given the Halifax Resolves Chapter. Linda Presley accepted the award.

Pittard was honored in recognition of the support given chapter.

Rives Manning and Ernest Bobbitt were presented the Bronze Good Citizenship Medal — a multi-purpose award designed to recognize individuals whose community achievements at the local and state level are noteworthy.


Gammon, Jones and Avent were presented the Bronze Roger Sherman Medal for a compatriot in recognition of, and in appreciation of, outstanding services rendered to a Chapter.

First responder awards


In presenting the awards, Wilson said, “Tonight’s recipients have consistently placed their subordinates above themselves.  It’s now time for us to recognize them.

When the decision was made to give these awards, I was astounded at the additional activities these men have undertaken. Each activity gives something back to the community.”


The Fire Safety Commendation Medal was presented to Roanoke Rapids fire Chief Stacy Coggins. “He represents the excellence, spirit and dedication of the ideal supervisor and team leader,” Wilson said.


The Law Enforcement Commendation Medal was presented to Roanoke Rapids police Chief Chuck Hasty and Halifax County Sheriff Wes Tripp. Major Neil Aycock accepted the award for Tripp.

Of Hasty, Wilson said, “He is a true professional whose courage of conviction and strong moral character fosters high morale, esprit de corps and a winning attitude within the department.”

Of Tripp, Wilson said, “His professionalism, strong moral character, and willingness to overcome the sometimes overwhelming challenges of his office are a credit to the members of his office and the county of Halifax.”

Read 1028 times Last modified on Monday, 13 November 2017 13:41

Comments on SAR honors friends, officers, first responders

Latest Comments


Rives Manning ReElect

Latest Events

No events

Login Form