Tuesday, 07 November 2017 22:45

Meacham retains mayor's seat; challengers sweep Weldon incumbents

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)

Weldon Mayor Julia Meacham will keep her seat and three new town commissioners will be sworn in, according to unofficial municipal election results in Halifax County.

Meacham defeated former town Commissioner Stanley Edwards, who stepped down to run for the mayor’s seat. She beat Edwards by a 69.57 to 30.43 percent margin.

Incumbent Weldon commissioners Susie Adams and Kimberly Robinson lost their seats as challengers Walter Clark Jr., Larry Brunson and Reailyn Stanback won. Clark is a former Weldon town commissioner.

Challenger Christon Martin finished last behind Adams and Robinson collecting 9.50 percent of the votes.

Turnout across the county was 11.10 percent.




In Enfield, incumbent Mayor Barbara Simmons was ousted by challenger Wayne Anderson. Anderson collected 71.12 percent of the votes in the race.

In the Enfield District A town commissioner race, challenger Bobby Whitaker unseated incumbent Therman Hunter, taking 73.94 percent of the votes.

In the Enfield District B race, challenger Kenneth Ward collected 69.41 percent of the votes to beat out incumbent Earl Harvey.




A write-in candidate will determine the fifth seat on the Halifax Town Board of Commissioners, county Board of Elections Director Kristin Scott said.

The winner of the fifth seat should be known Wednesday.

Mayor John White, who ran unopposed, was re-elected.

Three incumbents — John Suiter, Barbara Daniels and Lee Clements — won their seats and newcomer Christina Wells won a seat.

There were 21 write-ins in the race.




Incumbent Mayor Dannie Flanary and incumbent Sam Johnson and Robert Sykes were re-elected.




In Littleton, Owen Scott won the mayor’s seat after John Girdley did not refile.

Two of three newcomers were elected to the board after two incumbents did not refile.

Stephen Barcelo and Bonita Knight won the two seats.


Roanoke Rapids


Mayor Emery Doughtie, who ran unopposed was re-elected as were council members Suetta Scarbrough and Wayne Smith.


In the Roanoke Rapids Board of Education race, incumbents Mike Salanik and Valencia Davis were re-elected. Newcomer Henry Ford won a seat.

Incumbent Jane Deese did not refile.


In the Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District Board race, incumbents Steve Holliday and Eugene St. Clair were re-elected.

Challenger Gregory Browning, the chair of the planning board, won a seat.

Incumbent Jack Barber did not seek re-election.

Challenger Dom Fenner came in last, getting 12.67 percent of the votes.


Scotland Neck


Incumbent Mayor Eddie Braxton ran unopposed and was re-elected.

Incumbent commissioners James Savage and Charles Suit were re-elected.

Challenger Susie Dickens came in last, collecting 20 percent of the votes.

Read 3311 times

Comments on Meacham retains mayor's seat; challengers sweep Weldon incumbents

Latest Comments


Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form