Wednesday, 25 October 2017 08:01

Man sought in Tuesday murder

Written by 
Rate this item
(3 votes)

The Halifax County Sheriff’s Office is looking for a 19-year-old man wanted in a Tuesday night murder which occurred in the Branch Avenue and Bowser Street area of Roanoke Rapids.

The victim, Sequan Flemming, was rushed to a hospital by family members and was pronounced dead by medical staff, Sheriff Wes Tripp said in a statement. Flemming was 20.

Scott Matthew James

Deputies responded to the shooting call around 6 p.m. and developed Matthew James Scott as the alleged suspect.

Tripp declined to discuss motive in a statement and by telephone this morning.

He did say Scott, who is considered armed and “extremely dangerous,” frequents the Roanoke Rapids area.

Anyone with information on the whereabouts of Scott is encouraged to call the sheriff’s office at 252-583-8201 or Crimestoppers at 252-583-4444.


Read 16245 times

Comments on Man sought in Tuesday murder


Latest Events

Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Tue Mar 06 @ 6:30PM -
Democratic party meeting
Sat Mar 10 @11:00AM - 01:00PM
Hope, Help, Healing
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive
Thu Mar 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:00PM
Clara Hearne pre-K registration
Fri Mar 30 @12:00AM
Artisans, crafters needed for fair
Sat Mar 31 @12:00PM -
Project Graduation Boston Butt, stew sale

Login Form