Friday, 13 October 2017 06:42

City employee charged with providing phone to inmate

Written by 
Rate this item
(7 votes)

A former city employee was charged Thursday with allegedly providing a cell phone to an inmate assigned to work with the parks and recreation department.

Tony Roberts, 52, of Garysburg, was charged by Investigator O.L. Wiltsie following an investigation which began last Monday, Roanoke Rapids police Chief Check Hasty said in a statement.

Roberts, who with worked with parks and recreation, is no longer employed with the city.

He received a $2,000 bond and November 1 court date where he will answer to the charge of providing or furnishing a mobile device to an inmate.

Hasty said the charge stems from an investigation Wiltsie began last Monday when a correctional officer was doing a search of inmates returning from work assignments and found one of them in possession of a cell phone.

The investigation is ongoing.

Captain B.L. Martin and North Carolina Department of Public Safety staff assisted with the investigation.

Read 6212 times

Comments on City employee charged with providing phone to inmate

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sun Nov 19 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Nov 20 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Nov 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Nov 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Nov 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Nov 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Nov 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Nov 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Nov 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Nov 28 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 1251 guests and no members online

Login Form