Friday, 13 October 2017 06:42

City employee charged with providing phone to inmate

Written by 
Rate this item
(7 votes)

A former city employee was charged Thursday with allegedly providing a cell phone to an inmate assigned to work with the parks and recreation department.

Tony Roberts, 52, of Garysburg, was charged by Investigator O.L. Wiltsie following an investigation which began last Monday, Roanoke Rapids police Chief Check Hasty said in a statement.

Roberts, who with worked with parks and recreation, is no longer employed with the city.

He received a $2,000 bond and November 1 court date where he will answer to the charge of providing or furnishing a mobile device to an inmate.

Hasty said the charge stems from an investigation Wiltsie began last Monday when a correctional officer was doing a search of inmates returning from work assignments and found one of them in possession of a cell phone.

The investigation is ongoing.

Captain B.L. Martin and North Carolina Department of Public Safety staff assisted with the investigation.

Read 7013 times

Comments on City employee charged with providing phone to inmate

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form