Friday, 06 October 2017 09:07

RRPD continues armed robbery probe

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Roanoke Rapids police continue their investigation into an armed robbery which occurred at the Roanoke Avenue New Dixie Mart Shell station Thursday night around 9.

No one was injured, Chief Chuck Hasty said this morning.

The chief said in a statement a man with a light complexion entered the store near Kapstone and displayed a weapon. He demanded money and the employee complied.

He left with an undisclosed amount of money and was last seen heading toward Jackson Street Extension on foot.

The man wore a white ball cap, a gray hooded sweatshirt and khaki pants. A bandanna covered his face.

He had a slim build and stood between 5-feet, 7-inches to 5-feet, 10-inches tall.

Anyone with information is encouraged to call Investigator O.L. Wiltsie at 252-533-2823 or Crimestoppers at 252-583-4444.

 

Driver welfare check

 

 

Hasty also reported on Thursday around 4:45 p.m. Master Officer G. Morris responded to the 171 exit at Interstate 95 about a possible passed out driver.

Morris and EMS found the vehicle came to rest against a fence. Adam Wayne West, 33, of Sims, was behind the wheel.

West was found in possession of narcotics and paraphernalia.

He was arrested and charged with possession of heroin, possession of drug paraphernalia, driving while impaired, and maintaining a vehicle for a controlled substance.

He received a $10,000 bond and November 1 court date.

Sergeant M. Peck assisted.

Read 4683 times

Comments on RRPD continues armed robbery probe

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Feb 10 @10:00AM -
Halifax County Genealogical Society
Wed Feb 14 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Tue Mar 06 @ 6:30PM -
Democratic party meeting
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive
Thu Mar 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:00PM
Clara Hearne pre-K registration
Fri Mar 30 @12:00AM
Artisans, crafters needed for fair

Login Form