Tuesday, 03 October 2017 19:50

Skipper to remain in fed custody pending trial

Written by 
Rate this item
(2 votes)

Christopher Skipper, a Roanoke Rapids man charged on federal child pornography counts, was ordered to remain in custody pending his trial.

Magistrate Judge Kimberly A. Swank in Greenville today ordered Skipper to remain in federal custody but documents giving a reason why are currently sealed.

An exhibit list was also filed but that document remains sealed as well.

Swank last week ordered Skipper to remain in custody until the detention hearing.

A minute entry filed in the federal court record does show Skipper was in court with counsel and the United States Attorney’s Office was present as well.

Skipper was arrested Wednesday after a federal grand jury earlier in September returned an 11-count indictment against him for receiving and possessing child ponography.

The true bills were returned following an investigation by the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office and the United States Department of Homeland Security.

Counts 1 through 10 of the indictment charge Skipper, beginning on April 14, received digital and computer images in files which had been mailed, shipped and transported in interstate and foreign commerce.

The productions involved the use of a minor engaging in sexually explicit conduct.

Count 11 charges he possessed child pornography which involved a minor or minors who had not yet reached the age of 12 engaging in sexually explicit conduct.

 

 

 

 

Read 4186 times

Comments on Skipper to remain in fed custody pending trial

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Feb 10 @10:00AM -
Halifax County Genealogical Society
Wed Feb 14 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Tue Mar 06 @ 6:30PM -
Democratic party meeting
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive
Thu Mar 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:00PM
Clara Hearne pre-K registration
Fri Mar 30 @12:00AM
Artisans, crafters needed for fair

Login Form