Tuesday, 03 October 2017 10:53

Man wanted in Weldon shooting in custody

Written by 
Rate this item
(2 votes)

A man wanted in a shooting last week was taken into custody by Halifax County Sheriff’s Office deputies this morning.

Chief Deputy Scott Hall said in a statement Deputy Greg Keel and Sergeant Justin Matthews located James Edward Brickell Jr. at an address outside of Weldon.

The shooting occurred Wednesday and the victim was reported to be in stable condition, Sheriff Wes Tripp said in a statement released at the time. The sheriff said there was no evidence of robbery or gang activity.

Hall could not be reached for immediate comment this morning.

Brickell, 49, was arrested and charged around 7 a.m. with assault with a deadly weapon inflicting serious injury and possession of firearm by felon.

He was placed in the Halifax County Detention Center under a $5,000 secured bond and has a November 1 court date.    

The victim sustained gunshot wounds to the neck and shoulder area in the 5:30 p.m. shooting. The crime occurred in the 1100 block of Elm Street in Weldon.

 

 

Read 3868 times

Comments on Man wanted in Weldon shooting in custody

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Dec 16 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Dec 17 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Dec 18 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Dec 19 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Dec 20 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Dec 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Dec 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Dec 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Dec 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Dec 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 827 guests and no members online

Login Form