Friday, 29 September 2017 13:35

Man charged on crystal meth counts following stop

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

A Newton Grove man was arrested on crystal meth charges following a traffic stop on Interstate 95 this morning.

Trooper S.R. Corn of the state Highway Patrol stopped Luther David Williford II for expired tags. The stop occurred around 7:30 this morning at the 173 northbound exit in Roanoke Rapids.

Corn said Williford told him he was in the area to see a friend but the friend lived a couple of exits back.

Because of the man’s suspicious behavior, Corn asked for backup and Roanoke Rapids police Officer Hannah Grimes and her dog, Jimi, arrived.

Grimes had Jimi conduct a free air sniff and the dog made a positive alert for narcotics.

Corn found 2 ½ grams of crystal meth in the center console of the vehicle. The meth was stored in a pill bottle and probably had a value of between $200 to $300, Corn said. The trooper also seized a straw with a white powder residue.

Corn charged Williford with possession with intent to sell and deliver schedule II; felony possession of schedule II; possession of paraphernalia for the straw and pill bottle and maintaining a vehicle for keeping and selling a controlled substance.

Williford was issued a citation for the tags. He has an October 4 court date.

Read 3962 times

Comments on Man charged on crystal meth counts following stop

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sun Jul 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form