Wednesday, 27 September 2017 17:22

Welfare check leads to marijuana find

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)

A welfare check Tuesday evening led to the arrest of a Garysburg man on marijuana charges, the City County Drug Task Force reported.

Captain A.M. Harris said Corporal M. Bishop of the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office went to the residence in the 900 block of Elm Street in Weldon to check on a woman for the Northampton County Sheriff’s Office. The woman was not at the residence.

Harris said in a statement Bishop responded to the residence around 6:30 p.m.and could reportedly smell marijuana coming from inside.

Five people were inside and a Mason jar containing marijuana was turned over to Bishop.

Bishop contacted task force agents who secured the house and applied for a search warrant.

Weldon police Sergeant T.L. Mason and his dog, Rio, and Agent D.R. Radford and his dog, Tony, assisted with the search of the property.  

Agents seized an additional 26 grams of marijuana, a handgun and several items of marijuana paraphernalia.

Radford arrested and charged Marquese Alston, 23, of Garysburg, with possession with intent to sell and deliver marijuana, possession of marijuana paraphernalia and maintaining a vehicle or dwelling for a controlled substance.

He has an October 4 court date.

Read 5303 times

Comments on Welfare check leads to marijuana find

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sun Oct 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Oct 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Oct 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Oct 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Oct 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Oct 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Oct 28 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Oct 29 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Oct 30 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Oct 31 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 466 guests and no members online

Login Form