Monday, 25 September 2017 15:11

Movement violation stop leads to two drug arrests

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)

A vehicle movement violation led to the arrest of two people on marijuana and cocaine counts Friday night.

Halifax County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Brandon Council initiated the stop around 10:30 p.m. for a movement violation on Airport Road.

Chief Deputy Scott Hall said in a statement the driver, identified as Rondell Lavaris Garner, turned into a driveway and exited the vehicle as it was still moving.

The 35-year-old Roanoke Rapids man headed to a wooded area but was caught by the deputy.

Sergeant Josh Langley and Deputy Logan Capps secured the vehicle and Earl Gregory Alston, 34, a passenger in the vehicle.

Garner was arrested and was charged for possession with intent to sell and deliver marijuana, possession of drug paraphernalia, driving while license revoked, and failure to attach registration license plate to a vehicle.

He received a $4,000 bond and November 15 court date.

Alston, also of Roanoke Rapids, was arrested and charged with possession of cocaine and possession of an open container of alcohol.

He was also listed as wanted out of Wake County on parole violations.

He received the same bond and court date as Garner.

Read 6352 times

Comments on Movement violation stop leads to two drug arrests

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Feb 10 @10:00AM -
Halifax County Genealogical Society
Wed Feb 14 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Tue Mar 06 @ 6:30PM -
Democratic party meeting
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive
Thu Mar 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:00PM
Clara Hearne pre-K registration
Fri Mar 30 @12:00AM
Artisans, crafters needed for fair

Login Form