Wednesday, 09 August 2017 21:35

Man arrested on cocaine, resisting counts after brief chase

Written by 
Rate this item
(5 votes)

A Roanoke Rapids man was arrested this evening after the captain of the City County Drug Task Force reportedly observed a hand-to-hand drug transaction while following up on a drug complaint at Carolina Avenue and East Tenth Street.

Captain A.M. Harris said in a statement the transaction occurred on the Park Avenue side of a convenience store.

When Harris attempted to approach the vehicle the driver, identified later as Michael Scott Hargrave, 44, attempted to flee.

Hargrave failed to stop for blue lights and siren and reportedly threw the cocaine out of the passenger window while driving across the store parking lot.

He stopped in the area of Fairfax Motel where he was arrested, several Halifax County Sheriff’s Office deputies and Roanoke Rapids police officers assisting.

Harris located the cocaine in the store parking lot.

He charged Hargrave with felony possession of cocaine, resisting a public officer and fail to heed light or siren.  He received a $2,500 bond and August 16 court date.

Harris said agents will continue to follow up on the Carolina Avenue drug complaint.

Read 6512 times

Comments on Man arrested on cocaine, resisting counts after brief chase

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Thu Jan 18 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Jan 19 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Jan 20 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Jan 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Jan 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Jan 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Jan 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Jan 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Jan 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Jan 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 881 guests and one member online

Login Form