Tuesday, 08 August 2017 15:08

Roanoke Rapids man hits $1 million ticket in new Fever scratcher

Written by 
Rate this item
(8 votes)

James Varnedore of Roanoke Rapids is celebrating his good fortune after winning the first top prize of $1 million in the new Million Dollar Fever scratch-off game.

Varnedore bought the $10 ticket at the New Dixie Mart on Highway 48 at Smith Church Road in Roanoke Rapids.

He claimed his prize today at lottery headquarters in Raleigh.

Varnedore had the choice of taking a $1 million annuity that has 20 payments of $50,000 a year or a lump sum of $600,000.

He chose the lump sum and, after required state and federal tax withholdings, took home $417,009.

The scratch-off game launched on August 1 with five top prizes of $1 million. Four top prizes remain.  

Lottery Brand Communications Specialist Townley Cheek said Varnedore declined to be photographed and declined the release of any other information beyond the lottery’s news release.

Read 11974 times

Comments on Roanoke Rapids man hits $1 million ticket in new Fever scratcher

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Thu Jan 18 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Jan 19 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Jan 20 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Jan 21 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Jan 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Jan 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Jan 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Jan 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Jan 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Jan 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 1052 guests and one member online

Login Form