Thursday, 29 June 2017 13:59

Reams, Cherry have arraignments continued in heroin case

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Two men charged with trafficking heroin in March have their arraignments continued, federal court records show.

Tony Ray Reams and Herbert Lamonte Cherry were both scheduled for arraignment earlier this month.
This week United States District Judge Louise W. Flanagan set the arraignment of Reams, who is from Scotland Neck, to the September 12 term of court in New Bern.
She had previously moved Cherry’s arraignment to the August 15 term of court.
Andrew McCoppin, a Cary attorney defending Reams, filed a motion to the continue the arraignment because he needs time to review lab analysis of the heroin seized following a stop on Interstate 95 March 13 in Roanoke Rapids. “The government informed undersigned counsel that he should expect the laboratory analysis of the alleged controlled substance in the next few weeks. Undersigned counsel needs additional time to review this analysis before advising the defendant.”
Meanwhile, Thomas P. McNamara, a Raleigh attorney defending Cherry, of Tarboro, requested a continuance for more time to review supplemental discovery once received from government counsel and more time to complete legal research.
In April the federal Grand Jury indicted both men on two counts, conspiracy to distribute and possess with intent to distribute heroin and possession with intent to distribute heroin.
Soon after their local arrests, the two men were arrested on the federal counts.

 



Read 2782 times

Comments on Reams, Cherry have arraignments continued in heroin case

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sun Jul 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form