We Are Improving!

We hope that you'll find our new look appealing and the site easier to navigate than before. Please pardon any 404's that you may see, we're trying to tidy those up!  Should you find yourself on a 404 page please use the search feature in the navigation bar.  

User Rating: 4 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Inactive

The Halifax County Board of Elections has approved its one-stop — commonly called early voting — sites and dates ahead of the November 3 general election.

The board has also approved the consolidation of several precincts throughout the county.


The one-stop sites are as follows:

The Halifax County Agriculture Building, 359 Ferrell Lane, in Halifax

Kirkwood Adams Community Center, 1100 Hamilton Street, Roanoke Rapids 

Enfield Fire Substation, 9768 Ringwood Road, Enfield 

Scotland Neck Town Hall, 1310 Main Street, Scotland Neck 

One-Stop hours:

Thursday, October 15 through Friday, October 16 — 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 17 — 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Monday, October 19 through Friday, October 23 — 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 24 — 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Monday, October 26 through Friday, October 30 — 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 31 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Board of elections Director Kristin Scott said in a statement Halifax County residents who are not registered to vote may register and vote during the one-stop voting period.

Residents who are registering to vote during the one-stop voting period must provide a current valid ID as proof of residency. 

The ID must show your name and current residential address. 

The following types of ID are acceptable: a government document — passport, driver’s license, or other form — utility bill, paycheck or a bank statement.

For questions contact the board office at 252-583-4391.

Precinct consolidations

Scott also confirmed this afternoon precinct consolidations in Littleton and Roanoke Rapids for the November 3 election.

Voters in the Littleton 1 and 2 precincts will vote at the Littleton United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall at 105 East South Main Street.

Roanoke Rapids precincts 3 and 4 are combined and voters from precinct 4 who traditionally cast ballots at All Saints Episcopal Church will now join precinct 3 voters at the Lloyd Andrews City Meeting Hall on Jackson Street.

District 5 voters will now cast ballots at Kirkwood Adams. Precinct 5 voters traditionally went to the Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District.

Roanoke Rapids precinct 7 voters will now vote at the Davie Volunteer Fire Department on Highway 158. The precinct 7 voters join precinct 9 voters. Precinct 7 was formerly South Rosemary Baptist.

Scott said the county tried to consolidate the precincts about five years ago but the state denied the request due to possible wait time for voters.

Asked whether the new consolidations would present the same problems Scott said, “When we submitted the packet I had increased the check-in stations and there will be three to four check-in stations.”

All Saints church has had parking issues. “When we looked at Roanoke Rapids 7 — South Rosemary — some of the churches were not comfortable with having voting there. Parking had become an issue with the sanitary district and those were the same concerns we had with the Littleton area.”

The polls on November 3 will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m.

As far as elections and the novel coronavirus pandemic, Scott said, “We are in the process of working with the state to obtain CARES Act funding and we’re looking at setting up sites for social distancing. We’re looking at purchasing the required PPE — personal protective equipment — and having additional face masks for voters who may have left theirs at home.”

While voters will not be required to wear face masks, they will be encouraged to do so.

Precinct workers will be required to wear masks or face shields, Scott said.