We Are Improving!

We hope that you'll find our new look appealing and the site easier to navigate than before. Please pardon any 404's that you may see, we're trying to tidy those up!  Should you find yourself on a 404 page please use the search feature in the navigation bar.  

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Roanoke Rapids District 3 Councilman Carl Ferebee will face competition in the November 5 municipal election.

Ferebee filed to run again for his seat Monday as did challenger Terry Buffaloe.

The filing period for municipal elections ends July 19 at noon.

Ernest Bobbitt filed Monday to retain his District 1 council seat while newcomer Sandra Bryant filed to run for the seat held by the late Carol Cowen in District 2.

In other filings Monday Gregory Browning filed to retain his seat on the Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District Board of Directors and incumbent Scotland Neck Mayor Eddie Braxton refiled.

Challenger Raymond Hyman filed to run for the Scotland Neck town board.

The open seats and current incumbents are as follows:

Town of Enfield

At large seat — Tracey Gardner

District A — Bud Whitaker

District B — Kent Holmes

Town of Halifax

Mayor — John White

Commissioners — Barbara Daniels; Christina Wells; Lee Clements; Patterson Wilson; Lisa Turner

Town of Hobgood

Mayor — Danny Flanary

Commissioners — Milton Armston; Sallie Smith; Julian Padgett

Town of Littleton

Commissioners — Gerleen Pitchford; Ophelia Gould-Faison; Donald Spragins

City of Roanoke Rapids

District 1 — Bobbitt

District 2 — Cowen who died in April

District 3 — Ferebee

Town of Scotland Neck

Mayor — Braxton

Commissioners — James Gunnells; Charles Shields; Raymond Watson

Town of Weldon

Commissioners — John Smith and Charlotte Moss

Roanoke Rapids Graded School District

Board members — Jay Carlisle; Tammy Colston; Cathy Keeter

Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District

Board members — Browning; Steven Holliday; Eugene St. Clair