We Are Improving!

We hope that you'll find our new look appealing and the site easier to navigate than before. Please pardon any 404's that you may see, we're trying to tidy those up!  Should you find yourself on a 404 page please use the search feature in the navigation bar.  

Thursday, 17 August 2017 11:40

Columbus Co. pair on federal detainer after heroin seizure

Written by
Rate this item
(2 votes)

A federal detainer has been placed on a Columbus County pair who were stopped in Scotland Neck Wednesday night, a stop which led to the seizure of 102 bricks of heroin.

Halifax County Sheriff Wes Tripp this morning said no local charges will be filed. Instead the case will go straight through the federal court system and a criminal complaint for several drug violations will be filed.

The stop occurred on Highway 125 about two miles outside of Scotland Neck shortly before 11 p.m. when agents of the City County Drug Task Force with assistance of the Tar River Regional Drug Task Force stopped a vehicle for speeding.

Agents could reportedly smell the strong odor of marijuana coming from inside the vehicle.  

During the search of the vehicle with assistance of City County Drug Task Force Agent D.R. Radford and his dog, Tony, agents seized 102 bricks — 5,100 bindles —  of heroin and 13 grams of marijuana.  

Street value of the heroin seized is approximately $51,000.

Tripp declined to comment on the ultimate destination of Tara Finis Simmons, 46, and Charles Lee Wright Jr., 49. Simmons is from Hallsboro and Wright is from Whiteville.

Tripp said the stop was the result of the two task forces working closely together. “They share intelligence on a wide range of drug dealers … It just shows a continued dedication and hard work to combat all drug issues.”

The Drug Enforcement Administration made contact with the United States Attorney’s Office Eastern District of North Carolina.

The pair are being held under the federal detained.

The Tar River Regional Drug Task Force is made up of the Nash County Sheriff’s Office, Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office, Wilson Police Department, Nashville Police Department, Spring Hope Police Department, Tarboro Police Department, North Carolina Probation and Parole, North Carolina SBI, North Carolina ALE, and the DEA.

The City County Drug Task Force is made up of agents from the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office, Weldon Police Department and Roanoke Rapids Police Department.

Read 5770 times Last modified on Thursday, 17 August 2017 12:55