Wednesday, 14 June 2017 08:50

Fire causes minimal damage to apartment

A fire which originated in and around a linen closet at Laurel Glen Apartments Tuesday is under investigation to determine a cause.

A Roanoke Rapids woman was being transported to UNC Medical Center after she sustained smoke inhalation and burns in the aftermath of a fire this morning on Raleigh Drive.

The Roanoke Rapids Fire Department will begin flushing hydrants on Monday, April 3.

The Chaloner Middle School gym sustained heavy smoke damage this morning after a battery-operated lift apparently caught fire.

Roanoke Rapids Fire Chief Stacy Coggins recognized six firefighters this evening, two for administering CPR and four for going above and beyond the call of duty in helping a fire victim.

Monday, 28 November 2016 15:03

Fire on high: Locals help in mountain blazes

When the call went out for help in the mountains of North Carolina, four firefighters from Halifax County answered the call and one county ranger was dispatched.

The cause of a fire in the 800 block of Rapids Street Sunday night has not been determined.

The Roanoke Rapids Fire Department and the Main Street program told council this evening both departments received significant grant funds, which between the two funding awards total close to $200,000.

Roanoke Rapids City Council this evening made several special recognitions during its meeting.

City fire and police officials believe the cause of a fatal fire Wednesday night to be smoking materials in and around the victim’s bed.

Page 1 of 5

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 1102 guests and no members online

Login Form