With approval of its upcoming fiscal year budget this evening, Mayor Emery Doughtie sees the possibility of a brighter economic future for the city.

Wednesday, 07 June 2017 08:22

City honors scholars, officers

The city’s Benevolent Awards and Recognition Committee recognized its 2017 scholarship recipients and the police department honored two officers for lifesaving Tuesday night.

Tuesday, 06 June 2017 20:45

Council backs Gold Mine CUP

Roanoke Rapids City Council this evening approved the plans of a mother-daughter team to open an electronic gaming business in the former Gold Mine arcade at Becker Village Mall.

Roanoke Rapids City Council will consider a budget for the next fiscal year which contains no tax increase and proposes to give employees a 4 percent cost of living increase.

City Manager Joseph Scherer this afternoon recommended funding only six months of operational costs for the Roanoke Rapids Theatre.

City Manager Joseph Scherer says he will not recommend a tax increase for the upcoming fiscal year as council begins to deliberate its financial plan later this month.

Roanoke Rapids City Council will be asked next month to approve a streetscape master plan for Roanoke Avenue.

The Chaloner Recreation Center pool project is now one of replacement rather than repair.

The North Carolina Local Government Commission today unanimously approved the city’s proposal to restructure the debt of the Roanoke Rapids Theatre.

Wednesday, 19 April 2017 16:33

Jackson honored by SAR

The Halifax Resolves Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution honored a longtime officer for his community policing efforts during Tuesday’s city council meeting.

Page 1 of 23

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Sat May 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 798 guests and one member online

Login Form