One victim was at unease in her own home. The second was broken.

A former state Department of Public Safety probation officer pled guilty today to four counts of second-degree rape, charges which reflect he abused his power to intimidate two women he was assigned to guide through their post-release cases.

Factors favoring the last two defendants in a 2014 murder and shooting outweighed those aggravating, a judge ruled this morning.

Semaj Short and Jamonte Moody were both sentenced today in the 2014 murder of a 2-year-old girl and the shooting of her grandmother in Weldon.

Monday, 03 April 2017 15:16

Judge revokes Whitmore's bond

A superior court judge today revoked the bond of Marquise Whitmore and remanded the Roanoke Rapids man to custody without opportunity for bond pending his trial set for the May term in Halifax.

A Halifax County grand jury today returned true bills of indictment on 10 counts against a local funeral director.

Wednesday, 07 December 2016 15:58

Key dates set in 12 county murder cases

The District Attorney’s office and defense attorneys today agreed on dates for trials and administrative sessions for 12 murders which remain on Halifax County court dockets.

Thursday, 25 August 2016 10:41

Three days in court

Three days in court and our outlook is a little jaundiced.

Published in Opinion

In less than 30 minutes this evening a jury returned a verdict of guilty in the case of a Roanoke Rapids minister charged with a count of indecent liberties with a child.

The state rested its case today and the defense called no witnesses in the trial of a Roanoke Rapids minister charged with indecent liberties with a minor.

Page 1 of 4

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 1185 guests and no members online

Login Form