Semaj Short and Jamonte Moody were both sentenced today in the 2014 murder of a 2-year-old girl and the shooting of her grandmother in Weldon.

Three of the four charged in the August 5 murder of Dy'Uanna Anderson are expected to go through capital proceedings, it was revealed during a special hearing in Halifax County District Court this afternoon.

Friday, 08 August 2014 14:13

Macon: Child was asleep when murdered

Weldon police continue their investigation into the Tuesday morning murder of a 2-year-old child and the shooting of her grandmother, who remains in stable condition.

Wednesday, 06 August 2014 18:39

Woman organizes march to honor Weldon victims

Levita Webb knows firsthand what the family members of two people murdered in separate shootings in Weldon are going through — her cousin Lynn Clanton was gunned down in Garysburg the morning of July 4.

Tuesday, 05 August 2014 14:14

Authorities believe murders may be related

The Halifax County Sheriff's Office and Weldon Police Department have persons of interest in separate shootings that occurred in Weldon overnight and early this morning.

A violent night in Weldon has left a toddler and a teen dead in separate shootings.

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Sat May 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 792 guests and one member online

Login Form