News from Roanoke Rapids, Weldon and Halifax County
Thursday, 09 February 2017 12:37

Coles accepts plea deal in federal weapons case

Ian Coles has accepted a plea in his federal weapons case, documents filed in the court system show.

A Halifax man was charged Wednesday for disseminating obscene material to a minor via social media.

Wednesday, 08 February 2017 17:29

Opioid documentary to air at RRPD forum

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department will hold its annual community forum Thursday at Kirkwood Adams.

Wednesday, 08 February 2017 15:53

Murfreesboro man wanted in Weldon shooting

Weldon police have filed warrants and are looking for a Murfreesboro man wanted in a Sunday morning shooting.

Roanoke Rapids Fire Chief Stacy Coggins recognized six firefighters this evening, two for administering CPR and four for going above and beyond the call of duty in helping a fire victim.

Nearly eight months of intense debate ended this evening as three members of Roanoke Rapids City Council shot down a motion to fund repairs of the Chaloner Recreation Center pool.

A bad catalytic converter is the suspected cause of a series of roadside fires this morning in the Brownstone and Information Grocery areas of Highway 158.

Monday, 06 February 2017 17:38

Retiree gifts supervisors; Brantley honored

Today was a rarity in a public meeting where the retiree bestowed gifts upon his his supervisors.

A proposal which could stand as a substitute for hunting regulation amendments put on the table last month was introduced at this morning’s meeting of the Halifax County Board of Commissioners.

Sunday, 05 February 2017 09:11

Weldon investigating shooting

A shooting victim was undergoing surgery as of this report and Weldon police continue their investigation, Deputy Chief James Avens said this morning.

Page 6 of 8

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 1138 guests and no members online

Login Form