Tuesday, 25 April 2017 13:20

Coles scheduled for sentencing in Raleigh

Written by 
Rate this item
(3 votes)

Ian Barkley Coles will be sentenced on federal weapons charges in Raleigh on May 11, court records show.

At the time he accepted a plea deal in February, the location of the sentencing had not been set.
He is scheduled to appear before District Judge Terrence W. Boyle at 10 a.m. on that date, a notice of hearing filed Monday confirms.
Motions to continue must be electronically filed by noon on May 3, the notice says.
At his February arraignment he entered a guilty plea on the first of the three counts lodged against him and the government agreed to dismiss counts 2 and 3.
Count 1 says on or about July 8, Coles did knowingly possess in and affecting commerce, a
firearm, in violation of United States Code.
The two counts which will be dismissed upon sentencing charged him with aiding and abetting another who made false and fictitious oral and written statements in his attempt to purchase a firearm from a pawn shop and that Coles made written deceptive statements on a federal firearms form.
Roanoke Rapids Police Department Investigator Chris Babb and the ATF investigated the pawn shop case which led to the federal indictments.
Coles was arrested in Hopewell, Virginia, on December 8 after a federal warrant for his arrest was issued in early November.

 

Read 2603 times

Comments on Coles scheduled for sentencing in Raleigh

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Sat May 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 721 guests and no members online

Login Form