Tuesday, 21 March 2017 16:14

Skeletal remains found in Highway 158 area

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)
Hasty and Lieutenant Charles Vaught examine the area. Hasty and Lieutenant Charles Vaught examine the area. rrspin.com

Roanoke Rapids police are investigating the discovery of skeletal remains found beside a vacant beauty salon in the Spring and Carter street area of Highway 158.

Public Works Department employees found the remains shortly before 2 p.m. while doing right of way and beautification work in the area, Chief Chuck Hasty said.
The remains were found above ground and have been confirmed to be human.
Hasty said there have been no missing person reports filed from that specific area.
Without confirmation of the identity from the medical examiner, Hasty would not speculate on whether the remains are those of active missing person cases reported to the police department.
The East Carolina University School of Anthropology was on its way to assist investigators as requested by the medical examiner’s office, Hasty said.
He said the school will help process the scene and has special equipment for that purpose.
Hasty said clothing remnants were found.

Read 28805 times

Comments on Skeletal remains found in Highway 158 area

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Sat May 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 789 guests and one member online

Login Form