Opinion

Opinion (408)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Thursday, 22 January 2015 17:01

Public Health Matters: Resolve to be healthier

Written by

Let’s face it, how many of us start each New Year with resolutions that sound like this: “I am going to lose 50 lbs. in the next 6 months” or “I am going to run 5 miles a day” or “I am not going to eat any sugar, carbs, or dairy” or even “I am going on an all liquid diet.”

Friday, 16 January 2015 18:34

We cannot keep tearing down

Written by

Now that another icon has been leveled, can we please begin having rational discussions about how to build up rather than tear to the ground?

Thursday, 15 January 2015 10:04

Text Neck: We once walked upright

Written by

We once walked upright and then came Text Neck.

Thursday, 08 January 2015 12:07

We write on

Written by

Even with the Charlie Hebdo murders fresh in our minds we write on as the French satirical newspaper vowed it would do in the wake of the Paris tragedy Wednesday.

Wednesday, 07 January 2015 07:24

Council gets grasp of complex proceedings

Written by

Roanoke Rapids City Council Tuesday night made great strides in showing it understands the complex machinations that go hand-in-hand with the quasi-judicial setting involved with the Villages at Cross Creek conditional use permit.

Wednesday, 31 December 2014 08:27

2014: Beards, swimming pools, movie stars

Written by

For the last couple of weeks of this month I had a beard.

Tuesday, 30 December 2014 16:29

On driving by the intersection

Written by

Driving by the intersection of Tenth Street and Becker Drive, I feel a deep sense of sadness, a lump in my throat.

Saturday, 20 December 2014 10:38

Spare change, meaty issues and Christmas

Written by

This whole column started when I was thinking back to last week and I gave somebody a dollar and all the spare change I had in my car.

Friday, 12 December 2014 14:11

Public Health Matters: HIV awareness

Written by

Over the last several months, there has been much attention and fear surrounding the Ebola virus. We have another clear, present, and preventable danger, the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Tuesday, 09 December 2014 12:49

If the rumor mill could spin cotton

Written by

If the rumor mill could spin cotton, the textile mills would have never closed.

Wednesday, 26 November 2014 12:48

When Black Friday comes: Cautionary rules of engagement

Written by

If you're going to be one of those quote, un-quote brave souls who get up at 3 in the morning to stand in line for a doorbuster and a commemorative Christmas decoration advertising big box chain X, I wish you godspeed.

Friday, 07 November 2014 14:26

Public Health Matters: No place like home

Written by

When I think about the phrase “There’s No Place Like Home,” as a child, my first thought was the character Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz book and movie.

Page 7 of 26

Search

Who's Online

We have 781 guests and no members online

Login Form