Opinion

Opinion (406)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Friday, 11 April 2014 11:15

Asbell would have constant Halifax presence

Written by

For 13 years, I have served as the Elected District Attorney for Bertie, Hertford and Northampton Counties with pride and integrity. As the only candidate for District Attorney with the experience managing a multi-county district, I understand that each courthouse operates differently.

Friday, 28 March 2014 14:49

Pelfrey encourages study of statistics

Written by

Melissa D. Pelfrey, candidate for District Attorney for the new District 6 (comprised of Bertie, Halifax, Hertford, and Northampton Counties), wants residents of those counties to review the annual statistics compiled by the state Administrative Office of the Courts when considering their choice of the candidates for District Attorney.

Thursday, 13 March 2014 15:24

Macon remains staunch Democrat

Written by

We are at the beginning of a transformation in politics in Halifax County.

Thursday, 13 March 2014 15:10

Tougher questions needed for coalition

Written by

I wholeheartedly agree with your comments, but think some tougher questions should be asked of the Coalition for Education and Economic Security, NAACP and Concerned Citizens of Tillery.

Wednesday, 12 March 2014 06:16

Coalition has short memory, sets double standard

Written by

The Coalition for Education and Economic Security seems to have forgotten how on one of the hottest days of summer last year it stood lockstep with the Halifax County school system pushing its agenda of school merger.

Tuesday, 18 February 2014 10:16

The Friday of my discontent

Written by

In most instances imaginable, I am weird.

Friday, 07 February 2014 10:27

CVS and DrugCo: Why free markets are beautiful

Written by

The free market system is a thing of beauty, allowing business owners big or small to sell what they please, as long as the product is not banned or a controlled substance.

Monday, 03 February 2014 16:03

Here's that list of Coke products to boycott

Written by

Here, to begin with, is the exhaustive list of Coca-Cola products you will have to boycott if you found the soda company's stirring, patriotic ad aired during the Super Bowl offensive.

Monday, 27 January 2014 13:07

Ruminations on milk and bread

Written by

The funniest thing about winter, other than leathery-skinned tanned people fainting when the mercury drops below 50, is the milk and bread crowd.

Thursday, 16 January 2014 14:20

Every child should not play

Written by

At what age does the “every player should play” stigma switch over to playing based on talent? And when the child reaches the age where the rules change, how do you explain to them they were only playing because the coach had to, not because they were good enough?

Wednesday, 15 January 2014 16:00

The Striper Club (Or why I don't bet anymore)

Written by

From the garage is where talk usually centers on mundane things like fantasy football or where I lose a bet like Robert Griffin III is going to lead the Redskins to the playoffs. I don't bet anymore.

Wednesday, 08 January 2014 14:32

Winter demands you show your character

Written by

Freshly off the phone with a friend where our discussions often center on the way we think the world should be, I told him of this column I'm writing, how in kind words people who long for the swelter of summer in the infancy of winter need to shut up.

Page 10 of 26

Latest Comments

Search

Who's Online

We have 814 guests and no members online

Login Form