Opinion

Opinion (406)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Friday, 10 October 2014 06:32

Voter trust and the Aquatic Center

Written by

I find it extremely disturbing that, as of 7 p.m. on Tuesday evening, the closing of the Aquatic Center was a "possibility" and as of Thursday morning, it was a done deal with the announcement made that, as of Monday, October 13, 2014, the doors would be closed.

Thursday, 09 October 2014 08:44

Refuting the dubious 'Sambo' columns

Written by

In the August-September edition of the Weekly Defender newspaper, editor Nehemiah Smith Jr. published what he referred to as “Michael Wray and the League of Un-extraordinary Sambos.”

Friday, 03 October 2014 09:52

Looking at the photos of five teenagers

Written by

I had it in my mind to write some hearts and flowers column, one about how, after looking at the photos of five teenagers, I don't understand.

Thursday, 02 October 2014 16:34

Public Health Matters: Breast cancer awareness

Written by

Imagine lying in bed in the middle of the night, after getting up with a sick child, trying to go back to sleep.

Thursday, 25 September 2014 07:52

Giant phone thumbs: It's time to step back

Written by

If you have to buy a giant thumb to navigate your cell phone and use a smartphone ergonomics chart then I would say you're probably using your cell phone way too much and could stand to walk away for a little while.

Friday, 19 September 2014 06:48

Human issues

Written by

In trying to wrap my thoughts around the Adrian Peterson and Ray Rice fiascos, I couldn't — until I read my commissioner's note in one of the fantasy football leagues I play in.

Monday, 15 September 2014 14:20

Trail Life USA begins recruitment drive

Written by

Trail Life USA and American Heritage Girls teaches young men and women, ages 5-18, adventure, character, and leadership through a program centering on outdoor experiences that builds life skills and allows them to grow on a personal level and as a role model and leader for their peers.

Monday, 15 September 2014 11:18

Greene endorsement of Tripp

Written by

Fellow Citizens of Halifax County,

Monday, 15 September 2014 10:36

Frazier endorsement of Tripp

Written by

Dear Citizens of Halifax County:

Friday, 12 September 2014 18:37

Davis endorsement of Mark Macon

Written by

After the May 6 primary, I was contacted by the three remaining sheriff candidates.

Friday, 12 September 2014 16:39

Stallings endorsement of Warren

Written by

James Warren served as Chief Deputy for the Halifax County Sheriff’s office for the entire time that I served as Sheriff.

Wednesday, 10 September 2014 12:06

iWatches, almond-buying and playlists

Written by

With the announcement of the Apple Watch Tuesday, I have this great fear it's going to make people more obnoxious.

Page 8 of 26

Latest Comments

Search

Who's Online

We have 838 guests and no members online

Login Form